CompTIA Server+ Certification

Server+ is CompTIA‘s certification that focuses on server-specific hardware and operating systems, and certifies technical knowledge in areas such as RAID, SCSI, and multiple CPUs, as well as capabilities with server issues, including disaster recovery.

It was developed in 2001, with updates that followed in 2005 and 2009.

The eight domains of the Server+ exam are

  • General Server Hardware Knowledge
  • Installation
  • Configuration
  • Upgrading
  • Proactive Maintenance
  • Environment Troubleshooting
  • Problem Determination
  • Disaster Recovery

A combination A+/Network+, A+/Server+ or Security+ certifications can fulfill the elective exam requirement for the Microsoft Certified Systems Administrator (MCSA) certification.

Although not a prerequisite, CompTIA recommends test-takers have 18 to 24 months experience in server technology, along with a CompTIA A+ certification.