New course : CompTIA Security+

CompTIA has made a full remake of their Security+ certification.
This means that the old SY0-301 exam is only available until december 2014.

The new SY0-401 is the first update for the Security+ Exam since 2011.
And this allows for new material where some is listed below.

  • NoSQL databases vs. SQL databases
  • Server-side vs. Client-side validation
  • Unified Threat Management (UTM)
  • Additional cloud computing concepts such as private, public, hybrid, and community
  • Layered security and defense in depth
  • Additional protocols such as iSCSI, Fibre Channel, FCoE
  • The addition of the OSI model in relation to protocols and services
  • Additional wireless topics such as captive portals, antenna types, site surveys, and VPN (over open wireless)
  • Password attacks
    • Brute force
    • Dictionary attacks
    • Hybrid
    • Birthday attacks
    • Rainbow tables
  • Typo squatting/URL hijacking
  • Watering hole attack
  • Jamming/Interference
  • Near field communication
  • Replay attacks
  • WEP/WPA attacks
  • WPS attacks
  • Application control
  • Storage segmentation
  • Asset tracking
  • Inventory control
  • Mobile device management
  • Device access control
  • Removable storage
  • Disabling unused features